top of page

The Scottish Pigeons of Caerlaverock Castle

Having fun at Caerlaverock Castle! / image by JL Musgrave

In 2016, I traveled with my family to Caerlaverock Castle in Scotland.

Caerlaverock Castle / image by JL Musgrave

It was a beautiful triangle shaped castle where the Maxwell clan once lived.

Wild Rock Pigeon / image by JL Musgrave

Today, the only things that live in the castle are animals. One of the animals is the wild rock pigeon.

Pigeon nest in arrow slit. / image by JL Musgrave

When I looked through the arrow slits in the castle walls, I saw pigeon nests with eggs and baby birds in them.

Parents sitting on nests in the tower. / image by JL Musgrave

In the castle towers, I saw mommy and daddy pigeons sitting on nests and flying around.

Squabs in arrow slit. / image by JL Musgrave

My favorite part of the castle was getting to see the wild baby birds that had hatched in the walls. My family and I took pictures of the pigeons, babies, and eggs we saw inside the castle so that we could remember our great Scottish adventure.

Our Scottish adventure! / image by JL Musgrave

Caerlaverock Castle / image by JL Musgrave

See JL Musgrave's article, "Caerlaverock: Scotland's Famous Triangular Castle", for more information.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page